good tai chi = good qi control?

M

Milquetoast

Hi,
I've been working on qi gong for the last few weeks, and it's been great (zhan zuang). Those obvious signs of qi blockage seem to have disippated, and for the first time, I am starting to experience breathing that's as smooth as butter.

I was wondering though, if someone was learning qi gong as part of a tai chi curriculum, would they be as focused on developing good qi control? How would it translate to martial applications? I'm just a qi gong beginner, so I don't think it has benefited my martial abilities (except maybe better control of muscles).

OP
M

Milquetoast

Originally posted by arnisador
Do you mean that you're doing qi gong but not studying Tai Chi?

yes that's right, only doing qi gong.

OP
T

Taiji fan

Qigong is a faster way to build up energy than taiji (tai Chi).....personally I have never really liked Zhang Zhuang, but plenty of my mates swear by it...
if someone was learning qi gong as part of a tai chi curriculum, would they be as focused on developing good qi control? How would it translate to martial applications?
interesting question, to be honest 'qi control' in the same way as practised in qigong is not an essential part of taiji. Practised correctly taiji does not require the same 'guiding' of qi as the delivery of the application is largely down to the intent, the spirit and the body mechanics and off course to get the power you need to be relaxed. The movemnt of qi in taiji comes from a combination of these...so you can use your mind (intent) to guide the qi but perhaps not in the same way as you may guide in qigong. Ie you wouldn't visualise qi moving along the arm in taiji.....if your body requirments are correct its there.

What lead you to qigong?.....often people don't hear about it until after they have started taiji.

OP
C

chufeng

TaiJiFan is correct...