Good and Bad MA spirit

Shaolinwind

2nd Black Belt
Reaction score
While doing my job at Jelly Belly (customer service when not tour guiding) I noticed a girl with a Kajukenbo sweatshirt on. I stopped her and attempted to broach conversation. What I got was "I'm [famous Kajukenbo grandmaster]'s grand-daughter." And that's about it, I won't bother with details, but she was incredibly rude. I just looked at her and walked away. It was very dissapointing.

Another time, I saw a kid in a Kajukenbo shirt, this time from my school! He was a junior student so I had never seen him before. I approached and gave him a quick salute. Me - "Hi! I study under the same Sifu as you!!" Him - "Ok."

WOW! That sucks on toast. And these are not isolated events. I am the kind of person who approaches anyone wearing a shirt that mentions some sort of martial art. As a martial artist I feel that even though we may not be in the same art, we still have something big in common, and I want to be your friend. But really, I get a lot of very rude treatment. Occasionally it turns into a 15 minute conversation and an email exchange (I always refer them to MT) but that is particularly infrequent.

When I was in Tang Soo Do, my Kyo Sa Nim was very very hip to courtesy and kindness and every class he spoke of showing "Good Tang Soo Do spirit". It's a lesson I've kept with me. My current teacher does nothing of the sort, nor did they when I studied KF. I am not a master or instructor of any kind so I am not in a place to say what an instructor should or should not do, but still I feel as though something is missing in some cases.

Does anyone else have an instructor who teaches that courtesy and kindess are part of being a martial artist?

Devin

White Belt
Reaction score
My instructor doesn't teach anything outside of technique and the combative mindset.