Forms and techniques descriptions

S

SingingTiger

I'd like to find a "complete reference" for all of the forms and techniques as taught by Ed Parker.

The school where I'm studying teaches between 12 and 20 techniques per belt, and I know that many (and probably most) are the same as those taught by Mr. Parker, but many of the names are different, so when I see a discussion here or at www.kenpothoughts.com or elsewhere about a particular technique I'd like to know exactly what's being discussed, and how it might differ from what I'm learning or if there's a technique that I've learned that's essentially the same but with a different name.

I've got all five volumes of "Infinite Insights," and they're helpful as far as they go, but they're not anywhere close to complete. For example, I'm learning Short 3 now, but a description I saw on a website doesn't exactly correspond to what I've learned, and "Infinite Insights" (volume 5) only contains detailed descriptions of Short 1, Long 1, and Short 2. While I plan on learning the kata however my instructor teaches it to me, I'd like some historical background on it, as well as all of the techniques I have and will learn.

Any suggestions on reference materials?

Thanks,
Rich

Blindside

Grandmaster
Founding Member
Reaction score
Try www.kenponet.com

go the "The Flame" it is an archive of kenpo related info.

As for how accurate it is to a strict AK curriculum, I have no idea. Josh provides a good service to the kenpo community.

Lamont

cdhall

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
Originally posted by SingingTiger

Thanks,
Rich

Mr. Parker Jr sells the Teaching Manuals that have the full technique and forms descriptions in them as they were written to assist an instructor or student in teaching/learning.

You can probably get them from him via his website even if you have to email him to get things going.