K

Kirk

I started taking the cardio kickboxing classes that my instructor
teaches at my school. On the weekends, the wife and I like to
stay up late and do whatever .. watch movies, go out with friends,
etc. The classes start early on the weekends, so I have to set
my alarm to wake up, get ready and go. The problem is that I'm
not hungry first thing in the morning. So I go to class without
eating. I don't want to carbo load, this is aerobic activity.

I know that when doing cardio workouts that you body looks
to food recently digested for energy. Once that's burned up,
does it go to fat first, then muscles? Or if there's nothing in
your stomach, does it go straight to absorbing nutrients from
your muscles? If that's the case, how long should I NOT go
without eating before working out?

Cthulhu

Senior Master
Founding Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Let me preface my response by stating that I am NOT a doctor or nutritionist and that this is coming from my rather limited and scrambled memory.

If memory serves (unlikely), your body will first start try feeding on fat 'reserves'. What specific type of fat, I don't know. If there are no fat stores, then the body will try gaining 'fuel' from muscle tissue.

This supposedly explains why professional marathon runners look emaciated. They run so much, for so long, their bodies simply can't keep fat stores. Their bodies get what little they can from fat and the rest from muscle, which is why you almost never see a marathon runner that looks like Schwarzenegger.

So, unless you're already freakishly skinny, you may not have anything to worry about. However, I know that if I have a strenuous workout without having had eaten previously, I run the risk of getting lightheaded and/or passing out.

My advice? Talk to your doc. That's what they're there for ;)

Cthulhu

KumaSan

Blue Belt
Founding Member
Reaction score