Doing more than one discipline.

Jutt-

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
I've been training in Muay Thai for nearly 3 months , and just started recently ( tonight) Boxing.

While certain aspects of both go hand in hand well , they obviously differ alot in other areas to.

Which leads me to the question to people who practise more than one discipline - how do you share out the time for each practising diffrent discipline techniques?

Thanks in advance.:ultracool

terryl965

<center><font size="2"><B>Martial Talk Ultimate<BR
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Well first off for me, I would get a good ideal on my primary art and be doing that for a couple of years for that strong foundation and then look into other styles that would compliment the style I have choosen.

tshadowchaser

Sr. Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Founding Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
The boxing may help your Muay Thai but it will not go the other way around.

Most people develop better if they study their first art long enough ( read years) to understand it well befor trying a different ( even if some what related ) art

Sapper6

3rd Black Belt
Reaction score
i've always been against studying two systems at one time. too many variables to deal with, not too mention loyalty, technique, time constraints, and monetary commitment.

OP
J

Jutt-

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Thanks for your reply guys, some wise words.

I think sticking to the MT ( what I enjoy and have practised most out of the 2 ) seems to be the best bet.

Sukerkin

Have the courage to speak softly
MT Mentor
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Aye, the wisdom is to stick with one for long enough that you actually reach the level where you can decide if you need another art or not.

I studied Lau Gar Kung Fu for over a decade and never felt the need for any other art.

It's an interesting question actually. Is this conception of trying to become competent in more than one disparate art a modern development?