Advice on improving striking/punching

DAP

White Belt
Reaction score
I just started training in Tang Soo Do about two weeks ago. Does anyone have advice on improving striking/punching? I feel my punching is quite weak. I am looking for ideas practicing at home. Thanks!

MJS

Administrator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
I just started training in Tang Soo Do about two weeks ago. Does anyone have advice on improving striking/punching? I feel my punching is quite weak. I am looking for ideas practicing at home. Thanks!

Practice, practice and more practice! There really are no magic tricks to getting better at anything. Repitition is really the key. Of course, you want to make sure that your form is correct. Focus mitt and heavy bag training are good tools.

Talk with your instructor as well. I'm sure they'd be able to help you out.

Mike

Andrew Green

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Hit something. Heavy bags are the best choice, resistance bands are good too, but to develop power you need resistance.

aplonis

Orange Belt
Reaction score
First advice to every beginner... Are you tensing up first, gathering strength for a monsterous push of the fist? Stop that. Loosen up. Clenching muscles means you have to unclench to move. It slows you down.

Be loose and fast. Strike with no pre-clench. Even if you chamber a strike before lashing out, don't be clenched in that position. You only need all your muscles to tighten at the instant of contact.

Same thing for breaking boards. Speed is the thing. How fast is your hand or foot going at the moment of impact. Add power only when your structure and the target are positively engaged. You cannot power your way through air. There is no resistance. You are wasting strengh muscle-against-muscle prior to actual contact.