Looking for advice

WordT

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi everyone, first I wanna apologize for my English since it’s not my native language so I really apologize for the errors. I'm really new in practice martial arts, in fact I only started ju jutsu 4 months ago after many years of no playing sport. During practice I notice that i really lack ability in punching and kicking and during our training we don’t really focus in these aspect. If time will allow me I’d really like to start another sport (while continuing Ju jutsu) with in mind improving my ability to punch and kick and so, if possible, I’d like some advice on what can I choose considering that I’m a girl and my first priority is learning self-defence at the moment. I'm around 5'7 (170cm) tall and I’m very thin and even when I was very well trained strenght (especially in my arms) was never my best point but I'm very fast and I have good reflex. Thank you very much for your help! Hope my english is understandable enough.

Langenschwert

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
Kickboxing, Savate, or Muay Thai would all be great. I would perhaps wait until you have a better handle on your jujutsu before cross-training. Some Savate gyms also teach cane fighting, which is super cool.

SabumJoe

White Belt
Reaction score
Really any stand-up martial art would be good. Although, some arts would be more traditional and less practical. I would suggest kickboxing, Krav Maga, Kajukenbo, things like that. But, like Langenschwert said, try to stick with Jiu-Jitsu a but longer before cross-training

Gerry Seymour

MT Moderator
Staff member
Supporting Member
Reaction score