wtf and itf

Damian Mavis

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
I teach ITF, I seriously train kuyokushin karate and muay thai. I'm feeling you think its a mistake to study and fight in multiple arts?

TaeKwonDoKevin

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Hey all.....Greetings,
I agree with a lot of the posts, but somewhat disagree with a few of the comments....
Here is my opinion & 2 cents worth for free.:)
I am a TaeKwonDo person for 30 years now. Primarily studied Chang Hon TKD, but do have WTF training.
At one time I studied ShudoKan Karate, similar to Shotokan, received brown belt. There are many differences in the styles.

ShudoKan-ShotoKan
1- Usually does NOT lift foot off the ground when advancing forward or back. The foot pattern is a 1/2 moon in and out shape while staying on the ground.
2- Usually you advance forward, then block or punch After your foot is finished moving.
3- The head stays level at all time, even while moving.
4- Kicks chamber differently
The theories in strikes and power are much different in the 2 Arts.

These are just the basic differences, of course there are many more.
Most Martial Artists see the difference, even non martial Artists can see the difference in JMA & KMA.
In my opinion, the ITF & WTF systems are more alike than ITF & Shotokan.
My question is, since ITF has so much Shotokan in it, where did WTF TKD come from? It's not like ITF is Shotokan and WTF is something from outerspace. Many (if not all) of the early WTF Instructors came from the ITF. The evolution of the 2 Arts are different, so the ITF & WTF are different. But they still share the same roots.

Back to the Original question.....Which one is better---better for what I ask? The reason why both Federatons are popular, are for their differences. Just like a car & a truck.....which one is better....depends on what you want it for.
Enjoy the Art, and train from your heart!
-Kevin

dancingalone

Grandmaster
Reaction score