who uses prices ending in 99

goingd

Purple Belt
Reaction score
Just out of curiosity, who here uses prices ending in 99? Like, "Two Week Intro for $19.99," or "9 Weeks for $99." Does your tuition price end in 99? Or your uniform and other item prices? The question isn't just for school owners, but for students or anyone paying fees and such.

Thanks. ^_^

Jade Tigress

RAWR
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score

It's a long time marketing practice. Psychologically, it's supposed to improve sales. By ending a price in 99, it *appears less expensive*.

19.99 = it was less than 20 bucks!
99.00 = it was under a 100 dollars!

HTH. :)

As to the original question, as a student, I've always paid rounded prices for classes and equipment/gi's.

Tez3

Sr. Grandmaster
Supporting Member
Reaction score
It happens here too, £19.99 under 20 quid etc. We don't do that, it's too hard finding pennies for change these days and as we are in Yorkshire they insist on getting their penny change lol.

OP
goingd

goingd

Purple Belt
Reaction score
I was just always taught that it's a little dishonest (not that I expect everyone to). Though it really is up to the buyer to recognize the difference - but most don't. So I was curious about who practices it in the martial arts industry.

jamz

Orange Belt
Reaction score
No, my school is pretty straightforward... $20 for the intro, and monthly costs are $60, $80, or $100. No x.99 nonsense.

ACJ

Blue Belt
Reaction score
Actually it was less to with the psychological ramifications of the price. It actually is based off making sure each transaction needed to go through the cash register to stop employees pocketing exact cash when they didn't need to give any change. That's where its basis is, so don't think of it as a dishonest consumer trick, think of it as a catching dishonest employee trick.

granfire

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score