Whats your fav self defense style or art?

jjwalters

White Belt
Reaction score
To be very honest I think it all comes down to the person. Some people can, walk the walk where other people, well, ...talk. I study & teach Shaolin Kempo & also Uechi Ryu because I find both arts well rounded in particular, Kempo as it's so vast & so much to draw from. These arts on a self defense level are no nonsense arts & the reality of the street is with an encounter you do not have time to think that's why I study, train & teach these arts. Both these arts can give a student a solid foundation for self defense skills. I have studied & have ranking in many different arts but I have found these two systems to be the best for self defense, at least for me anyway.

You know, I'm surprised to hear Uechi Ryu used so often in these internet forums.

As a soldier on Okinawa (1964) I studied at a small academy in Futenma bearing that name. Seems that place has a very large reputation, as well as Kanei uechi the man who ran it..............anyways what he taught me then, I have kept with me and practiced all these years....and the few fights since then (in bars and such) the simplest application of block, punch, kick minus all the fancy stuff works quite well.

I did do a circular block and side step on a knife in the dark once and got stabbed in the thumb cause I was a bit ahead of myself (but it WAS heading for my chest)........:-0.......

It's all good for defense if you stay alert, in shape, and maintain good balance.

All the fancy stuff may be good for the sporting aspect, but in the real deal the shortest distance between two points has always worked for me. (the few times I have had to use it)

geezer

Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
My personal favorites:

1. Ving Tsun (with Jeff Webb's NVTO). Also love EWTO and EBMAS WT.

2. DTE Eskrima (Maestro Martin Torres). Also Latosa Concepts.