What Else Is There?

Kaygee

Blue Belt
Reaction score
I won't have to remind many of you of my past threads on these boards. Most of you did not agree, nor really understand for that matter, my reasoning behind the posts.

In any event, I am wondering if there are people out there on these boards that have moved on from martial arts and what they are doing now...
I have been thru so much stress and BS over the past couple of months with the politics and such of the karate studios in my area, that I think I am going to give up martial arts all together! It is weird because up until this moment, I could never envision myself not practicing a martial art because it became so much of my life over the past few years. And even before I started studying one, I always wanted to.

But I wonder if it would be better for my sanity, my anxiety, and my wallet, if I just took up a new hobby. Maybe join a gym or something.........I don't know.
But I was wondering what other ex-martial artists do in their life after martial arts......if there is one.

Thanks!

OP
K

Kaygee

Blue Belt
Reaction score
Taking a break is not uncommon. Sometimes it's healthy.

I understand where that may help in certain situations, but the issues that are apparent in my area will not go away with a break. I wish they would, but they will still be there later.

Carol

Crazy like a...
MT Mentor
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Stepping away from martial arts is like being single again. ;) You don't have to make a commitment to be single. You can choose to remain single for as long as you like, you can try things that are new and different.

Try taking a break, because when you do, you do not have to commit to going back...but you also do not have to commit to away. Perhaps you may find that you don't have interest in going back. That's ok. Perhaps down the road, something will cause you to reassess your decision. That's ok, too.

Bob Hubbard

Retired
MT Mentor
Founding Member
MTS Alumni