How to Break Boards?

P

paul

Ok, I have a question. I have taken martial arts in the past, but have since moved and not found a school yet. I still go over my current and past techniques, forms, etc.

I am a youth leader for our high school kids and want to do a sermon and use karate has an attention getter.

However, one thing that was never taught to me was how to break boards. I would like to incororate the sermon and breaking of boards, but I know zilch about it.

What type of boards? How I do hit it? Etc.

Thanks!

kempo108

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
welcome to the boards(no pun intended). board breaking is usually done with pine about 1 inch thick, 12 inches wide. as for the height i have seen many differences. 12 inches, 10, 8, even 6. i belive the smaller the number the easier it is. i am no expert though. and always strike with the grain. meaning if your doing a side kick the grain should run horizontal. make sure the holder locks their elbows out. and try to strike right through. i am sure there are others here who do alot of breaking, that could help you more.

Ito-okita

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Which technique would you like to use ? I studied TKD which is real heavy on breaking. Good advice, don't use thick boards the first time :)

OP
P

paul

I was thinking a hammer fist. Putting it on cinder bocks.Thanks

Eldritch Knight

Blue Belt
Reaction score
I'm inclined to say that if you haven't broken boards before, its probably not a good idea to start by demonstrating it to others. The technique is pretty simple, but the important part about board breaking is that its not a demonstration of strength, but one of correct body mechanics; those that should be deemed acceptable by an instructor. I'd highly recommend getting a qualified person to watch your technique first and iron out any possible bad habits before you actually put flesh to wood.

TigerWoman

Senior Master
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score