was once the student

skinters

Blue Belt
Reaction score
has your skill in wingchun exceeded that of your current teacher or peers, and if so how did that affect you and them ?.

geezer

Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
has your skill in wingchun exceeded that of your current teacher or peers, and if so how did that affect you and them ?.

Often one student will advance faster than others, at least in one or another facet of the art such as forms, chi-sau, sparing, comprehension of technique, and so forth. Occaisionally, a single student learns very rapidly in all these areas. The same is true in any field of human endeavor. If you are so gifted, great! Just try not to get a big head, or you may think you know more than you actually do! I have met people with tremendous talent. Back in the 80s, for example, a young man surfaced in the German branch of the WT system I studied who had superb skills as a fighter. He could kick all our butts. His name is Emin Boztepe. Another student, who I personally coached on one occaision had a remarkable command of technique, a photographic memory for forms, and terrific sensitivity in chi-sau. His name is Jeff Webb and he is now my teacher. But for each of these rare prodigies, I've seen dozens of hot shot kids who scored one lucky hit on their teacher and suddenly thought they were "all that!" Several of these immature kids-with-attitude even tried to found their own systems after a just a couple years of training. In a way, I feel sorry for them because they missed out on so much that they could have learned. Remember, agood Sifu may no longer be the best fighter there is, but he should be the wisest, most experienced coach you can find.

mook jong man

Senior Master
Reaction score
In my journey up through the ranks i encountered instructors that had an almost encyclopedia like knowledge of techniques and forms , they could tell you some minute detail that would improve what ever you were working on .