its not the same

skinters

Blue Belt
Reaction score
this is awkward to think about, let alone type it down in here,hope it dont come across the wrong way .

i have not been doing wingchun for long and im making quite good progress,to the point im already on a par if not better that some who have been at it a lot longer.im asked all the time how long i have been doing wingchun and most are suprised when i tell them im just a beginner.before i started taking classes,i was training a lot on my own not specifically wingchun but i suppose a lot of the movements i was doing would be called wingchun if they were seen by anyone practicing the art .

now along with all this before i took classes for months i studied wingchun as much as i could from books,dvd,internet and its giving me a head start if you like .been doing martial art since i was 9 im 37 now.

what all this is leading to is i feel awkward showing what ive got in front of those who i started out with .i feel like im taking the p**s when im getting through on people and still holding back .

its like im getting better all the time and passing others in skill,those who first showed me the stance and how to relax etc,and i dont know how to deal with it

sorry the post is longwinded.

jase

brocklee

Purple Belt
Reaction score
I'm not sure what the problem is. If you learn quicker then others, then go with it.

If people say that you appear to have been training WC for a while, have fun with it. Tell em that you're really a spy from another school ;) lol

profesormental

Brown Belt
Reaction score
Greetings.

Wing Chun is about pruning your movements to the most effective and efficient possible. Like Taoism, it is about taking the intelligent "shortcut" to whatever you want. Wing Chun is an expression of Taoist and Chan Buddhist philosophy (mostly Taoist) so it would help to study some to understand it.