USAT fires back at AAU

ATC

Senior Master
Reaction score
Thanks to d1jinx for posting this in the other thread. I just thought I would give it its own thread.

http://usa-taekwondo.us/news/2010/02/04/usat-referee-chair-speaks-out/31482

USAT Referee Chair Speaks Out
February 04, 2010
USA Taekwondo Referee Chair John Seiber Looks to Expand Opportunities Within the USAT Referee System
USAT CEO David Askinas Reaffirms the Rights of all Referees, Athletes and Coaches to Freely Participate in USA Taekwondo

February 2, 2010

Dear Taekwondo Referee Community:

Normally, I wouldn't respond to a letter such as the one Mr. Friello recently sent to the leaders of the AAU Taekwondo program. I will not comment on statements he made about which I have no personal knowledge, but I would like to set the record straight on the things he said about me.

Mr. Friello accused me of trying to recruit officials from his program. This is simply not true.

Without naming individuals (for fear of retaliation against them), several AAU referees have told me that they would like to gain more experience, and would referee at USAT events if they didn't have to start at the bottom of our certification ladder. We also had a certified AAU official recently attend one of our referee development camps at the Olympic Training Center.