Training with a personal handicap

Runs With Fire

Black Belt
Reaction score
I have been training in martial arts for four years. It is amazing to see just how I have changed in that time. Originally, I wanted to get in mma strictly to fight. I just wanted to fight and prove I could be tougher than My opponent. My uncle recommended a traditional school across town for more structured training. his Vietnam marine veteran status and several black belts from back in the day were enough persuasion for me to change my mind on just fighting to fight. I walked in and told them I wanted to get a black belt. The instructor didn't seem to think I would stick around long but I had already made up my mind. I hit the floor hard and gave it my all from day one. Every time I walked away aching, I took it as a challenge to toughen up and do better next class. My reputation in the school was to try the hardest, hit the hardest and have no controll. I always left everything on the floor and whatever we were doing, I gave it my all.
Things really began to change over the past two years. Every time I would preform a turning kick with power, I would end up having to pause due to back pain. Landing jumping kicks begun to send shooting pains down my legs and through my lower back. I decided power through my pain and just shake it off. It has only gotten worse with a near constant burning around my lumbar. It is quite likely that I end up in a wheelchair in the next ten to fifteen years. My training has changed, my philosophy of the martial arts has changed ; I have changed.
I take my condition as a challenge and yet another training opportunity. I believe it has given me the potential to be a better martial artist.

ballen0351

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
You been to a doc? I have 2 ruptured disks and 1 bulging in my lower back. Some good Physical therapy and treatments have helped more then I ever thought possible.