Train martial arts in asian temple - Which school? Which martial art?

FedZa

White Belt
Reaction score
Hey,
I am 20 years old and I've been practising Hapkido in Germany for 8 years. I am blackbelted, but I feel like I don't deserve my belt when I see young Asians kicking asses. That's why I've always dreamed of training in a real temple with real monks/masters for a 3-6 month.

I've spent some hours looking for a good school, but I'm not sure if these are schools I am looking for. I don't even know which art to train. I'd like to become very flexible, be able to use weapons, learn cool kicks etc., but most important: Learn a very useful martial art, which does not just look good, but is effective.
I like Hapkido and Taekwon-Do for instance, given that one learns how to defend oneself without having to punch a thousand times in one's face..

I'm looking for a temple, where I can focus 100% on martial arts and practise all day long, even if I know that it will be a real torture at the beginning.
I found some schools in Deng feng, Henan, China, such as:

http://www.scic-beijing.com/
Xiao Long Wu Yuan

.. Does anyone have an experience in a good school with hard training?
I prefare a non-touristic school and I'm willing to learn Chinese for that..
Or does someone recomment doing another martial art?

I'd be glad if I got serious and helpful responses.
Btw: The price is important, too. Costs comparable to the Xiao Long Wu Yuan (450$/month) would be great.

Thanks in advance.
Fed

Xue Sheng

All weight is underside
Reaction score
So your looking at Modern Wushu and sports Sanda.

A university program would be best for that and learning Mandarin would be a plus if you want to take that further to Traditional Chinese Martial Arts. There is a gentleman near me that went to the sports university in Beijing and his Modern wushu is impressive and his Sports Sanda is excellent

WaterGal

Master of Arts
Reaction score