Tracy's Instruction Style

Spartan

Green Belt
Reaction score
Concerning the Tracy's studios in my area, all of them specialize in private instruction. Is it like this for the entire organization?

I get the idea behind this, in that students learn better/quicker when it's one-on-one lessons. To me the only problem w/this is the pricing fees. For the short time I studied kenpo, I was paying $40 a week. While you can attend as many group classes outside of your private lessons as you wish, $40 a week is a pretty hefty base price for me (particularly because I'm a poor college kid).

What do you guys have to say?

Spartan

Flying Crane

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
I know that Tracy's does tend to recommend private lessons in addition to groups, but in my own experience with two different schools, this was not the reality. My schools have always had rather small groups tho, so you definitely could get private, or almost private instruction from the teacher during the training sessions.

I suppose pricing would be somewhat dependent on the economy in the region. Some people are willing and capable of paying a premium for something and others are not, and just where that threshold lies can vary quite a lot.

Are you happy with the school and the instructor and the material? If so, are you capable of paying the fees, even if it's difficult?

If the answer to the first question is "no", then look for someone else.

If the answer to the first question is "yes", but the second is "no", then perhaps discuss it with your teacher and see if some reasonable middle ground can be reached. If not, you might just be out of luck.

Finances suck, especially when it stands in the way of doing something you are passionate about...

stone_dragone

Senior Master
MT Mentor
Reaction score