This actually exists = I am so happy. =)

FrontKick-Jab-Punch

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Hello, fellow martial artists!

I'm currently a college professor just getting a martial arts program started at my University. It's really a boon, having it there rather than it being my own - no worries about gathering/losing tuition, because the University already has their moolah! I can be as strict as I like in my testing without worry of "losing customers" - which is just how I like it. I started taking Tang Soo Do in the 1980s at a Chuck Norris studio and have some pretty old-fashioned views on martial arts which I (happily) see echoed by a number of people on this forum.

I literally had no idea that a place like this existed. I always want to ask questions/share thoughts/rant about something to other like-minded martial artists but the downside of having the studio at my University is that I have no community to talk to: I'm still building it. Although I tend to have no difficulty expressing my opinions to my students in most cases, there are definitely things that I don't like to say to my newbie white belts... I don't want to bias their clean minds, crush their idealistic beliefs about the martial arts, or steal their opportunity to learn some of these things for themselves. Hence, I am incredibly grateful that you guys are here. =)

Hit me up if you have any thoughts/questions about TSD or teaching martial arts (although I'm primarly an academic professor at this University and my role as director of the martial arts program is quite new, I've been instructing or assistant instructing Tang Soo Do classes for over 20 years). And certainly be expecting thoughts/questions about the same from me!

Nice to meet you!

FKJP

Sukerkin

Have the courage to speak softly
MT Mentor
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score