The truth of JKD finally revealed!

simplicity

Green Belt
Reaction score
I agree and disagree with this last statement. Yes, Jeet Kune Do is about you discovery you or you looking in a mirror and reflecting on what you see. Now I have trained with many OBLS and I'm a 2nd Generation Instructor. I peronally believe there a sound "Principles" that teaches us the structure of foundation that makes up JKD. The problem is where us Instructor teach "THEIR" third stage of cultvation. Which is dissolving the principles that one has learned. When JKD is learned in this matter, you'll find yourself or the root to your own ignorance. But don't teach your student where "IT" has taking you. Only the first two stages!

1) Learn The Principles
2) Abide By The Principles
3) Dissolve The Principles

Great Training To Everyone, Have A Great Weekend

John McNabney

James Kovacich

Senior Master
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
I dont think Jeet Kune Do should even exist...or at least not have been given a name but i guess thats imossible. Its a concept to live your martial art by and someone else trying to teach you THEIR own personal martial arts is...lacking of your OWN content. why put someone elses practices to use if they only work for them? let alone study them religiously..its so hard to find a true martial artist around here. in AUS anyway.....why does there have to be a turth to "JKD" that needs to be revealed. If you wish to reveal the truth of it then study yourself
Being someone with a connection to the Oakland school I can understand "why" in your part of the world "you" see what "you" do. This isn't a shot at you. I just know there is more than meets the eye.

James Kovacich

Senior Master
Reaction score