The Parker 32 Technique System

M

MisterMike

Hello,

I am new to the board so I wanted to respectfully send my greetings and start with my first question. I hope it brings good discussion. OK, here goes:

I studied Parker Kenpo under the 32 system, or a derivative of it, meaning we studied the 128 techniques and the 32 extensions. We also studied some techniques from the forms, such as the Rod techniques, so the total is a bit more than 128.

I have noticed many schools teach newer techniques that were not included in my studies and even extensions to techniques that did not originally have any, and I was wondering if anyone knows the origins of these newer techniques and extensions and why they were created.

As I understood the Parker Kenpo system, it is all inclusive with the original 128 techniques, and any additional techniques do not add new "motion", and may not have even been created by Mr. Parker.

Does anyone agree/disagree with what I have written?

Thank you,
Michael

MJS

Administrator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
Page 3 of the Kenpo General forum has a discussion on this.:deadhorse

Mike

MJS

Administrator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
Originally posted by kenpo_cory
Which thread?

Well, I think Jfarnsworth already posted them, but here they are again. And there is actually 3 of them.

1- Are all these tech. needed?

2- 24 tech. vs. 16 tech.

3- Parker/Tracy 32/24/16 tech. curriculum.

Mike

Seig

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Mountaineer Martial Arts - Shepherdstown,WV
Folks,
Mike apparnetly is new the forum. Yes, he asked a question most of us are a little weary with, BUT he did ask it in a respectfull way. Please be a little friendlier on the first reply (ie Dead Horse icon). If you think for some reason, something is not on the up and up, let me or Mr. Billings know.
Thanks,
Seig

PS, Welcome Mike and Pete

OP
M

MisterMike