Ten years to pry the door open...

Flying Crane

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
I thought I'd share a recent turn of events with you all, with regards to my training.

A little background, first: I've been training with my kung fu sifu for some eleven years now, mostly in Tibetan White Crane, but with some Shaolin influences and taiji as well. White Crane has always been my primary interest of study with him, and he has generously given me as much as he could.

His training in White Crane goes back some 40 years or so, when he learned under his uncle, who is a lineage-holder and master of White Crane, and is one of the top White Crane people in the Western Hemisphere at the least. The problem was that he was unable to complete his own training in White Crane, due to an injury after a few years (not related to martial arts). This sent him in other directions, studying Shaolin and Taiji and Bagua and such. But he was unable to continue with his own White Crane training.

Over the years, he has taught his White Crane to very few people, instead teaching mostly taiji and shaolin. He generously agreed to teach me when I requested it, and I have been his only White Crane student for some time now. But he was always honest with me about the fact that he does not know the complete system, and that some of what he learned he has forgotten over the years. But he gave me what he could, and I just kept on working on it. From time to time I would try to encourage him to "jog" his memory and see if he can remember more, or suggest maybe he could get some of his classmates from back in the day to come in and help teach, or maybe get his uncle involved. All to no avail: his uncle closed his school decades ago and only teaches four disciples who have each been with him for 30 or 40 or more years, and he doesn't take new students, and the four disciples he does have aren't teaching either. So no luck.