Starting Kali saturday

isterphkali38111

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
I am starting kali this Saturday. I am just curious what arts if I ever decided to cross train, would complement kali the most. Don't have time to cross train now, but maybe some time in the future. Thanks.

Headhunter

Senior Master
Reaction score
Honestly don't worry what compliments it just do what you want. E.g jiu jitsu could compliment it perfectly (not saying it does as I have no experience in Kali) but you may hate jiu jitsu and not enjoy traininh in it. But you may enjoy kickboxing more even if it doesn't compliment it.

At the end of the day martial arts are about learning skills and having fun. Good luck with your first class

OP
I

isterphkali38111

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Honestly don't worry what compliments it just do what you want. E.g jiu jitsu could compliment it perfectly (not saying it does as I have no experience in Kali) but you may hate jiu jitsu and not enjoy traininh in it. But you may enjoy kickboxing more even if it doesn't compliment it.

At the end of the day martial arts are about learning skills and having fun. Good luck with your first class
thanks. Sounds good.

OP
I

isterphkali38111

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
I must say though. I am still curious of what arts would complement kali. Who knows it may be something I enjoy.

Headhunter

Senior Master
Reaction score
I must say though. I am still curious of what arts would complement kali. Who knows it may be something I enjoy.
Well I know Kali is weapons so it depends if you want another weapons based system or an empty hand style

OP
I

isterphkali38111

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Actually kali is weapons, but it also has empty hand. I'm thinking possibly bjj would be a good choice, but I dunno. That would cover ground work, while kali would cover empty hand and weapons. On the other hand, the side mount kills meh, soooooooo. I was wondering what other people's opinions were.

Buka

Sr. Grandmaster
Staff member