Sparring Tips...

TKDKrazy

White Belt
Reaction score
Hello, I am new to these forums. I am a red belt in Tae Kwon Do and I have been having abit of problems regarding sparring lately.

The main problem I have is kicking with my right leg, when my opponent is WIDE open and I have to throw a kick with a right kick my leg does not respond, Of corse with my left kick I am quite a fast kicker. So i'm wondering if there are any excersizes that I can do at home to help me fix this problem.

Also I usally go defensive when I spar and sometimes offence when my opponent is on defence. But the problem is I cannot do either that good. I'm not good at gaining distance when I am doing offensive... When I try feint then attack he always attacks me on my feint...

Overall I am just looking for some sparring tips so I can spar up to my belt expectancy.

Thank you,

exile

To him unconquered.
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
TKDK... this seems very strange. What do you mean, exactly, when you say that your right leg 'does not respond' when you try to use it to kick with? Is this something recent, or is it something that you've always had problems with in other situations where you needed to do something with that leg? I have to say, it sounds very odd.

granfire

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
well, we all have our weak side. I am pretty ineffective with my left.

Here are a couple of pointers: Practice hop kicks on a heavy bag. Lift the front leg up hop towards the bag and kick. That is very effective in closing distance. It also strengthens legs for sparring.

Another thing, it's not so much a matter of right or left, but front and back. See with which leg you lead more, use it to gain ground. back leg kicks are more powerful, but they are easily spotted and avoided.

Don't fake too much, pick a target. You can create openings by using combinations.

OP
T

TKDKrazy

White Belt
Reaction score