Side splits

Bruno@MT

Senior Master
Reaction score
Is this something everybody can do, with enough practise?
I am generally fery flexible. I can do all sort of flexibility tricks like touching my inside wrist with my thumbs, bend my fingers back 90 degrees, put my hands flat on the ground with my legs kept straight, and then bend my elbows, etc.

Only side splits frustrate me.
I have been stretching and strengthening my legs for 3 months now. And while there is some increase in flexibility, I am still nowhere near side split. My groin is still a foot and a half from the ground, and my inner thigh muscles are then taut as steel cables.

Any advice?

Aiki Lee

Master of Arts
Reaction score
well you're certainly more flexible than I am, and I don't think my flexibility is all that bad.

I think flexibility may have something to do with age, and it may not be possible for people who have progressed to a certain point. But I don't really know. I could be wrong.

Thesemindz

Senior Master
MT Mentor
Reaction score
Is this something everybody can do, with enough practise?
I am generally fery flexible. I can do all sort of flexibility tricks like touching my inside wrist with my thumbs, bend my fingers back 90 degrees, put my hands flat on the ground with my legs kept straight, and then bend my elbows, etc.

Only side splits frustrate me.
I have been stretching and strengthening my legs for 3 months now. And while there is some increase in flexibility, I am still nowhere near side split. My groin is still a foot and a half from the ground, and my inner thigh muscles are then taut as steel cables.

Any advice?

No, not everyone can do the side splits.