Shin Tengu Ryu?

kodora81

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Hi all. I thought I'd run something by you guys, because of the wealth of knowledge and the nose for B.S. that I've observed by many posters.

Has anyone here heard of Shin Tengu-Ryu? I ask because someone I used to work with has his own Dojo in Toronto, and I always see him advertise for his school Kage Dojo. This guy (Kevin) was actually our SD instructor for my old security company, and I remember thinking that this guy seemed to full of himself, a real egomaniac.

Now, I'm still a relative newbie in the MA world, but something about this school seems pretty fishy to me. When I googled the style I didn't come up with anything really, other than links associated with his school. Not to mention, he claims to be a 9th degree black belt.

So what do you think? Is there anything legit to any of this? Or pure McDojo?

http://www.kagedojo.ca/

Tony Dismukes

MT Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
Based on the terminology, the poses, and the photo of Takamatsu, it appears to be a rip-off of the Bujinkan or one of its offshoots under a made-up name. Since he is vague about his training background, I have no idea whether he had any significant degree of training in the Takamatsuden traditions before becoming a 9th Dan in his own art.

K-man

Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
I suppose, the proof of the pudding is in the eating. The fact that this guy is the highest rank outside of Japan is certainly impressive. The fact that there is no reference to Shin Tegu Ryu within Japan tends to take the shine off that claim. The other thing missing is any reference to his lineage. Taijutsu is a generic term like Kung fu or Wushu. So to claim that as background is very vague.