"Road Rage" the game...

geezer

Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
On another thread "Dealing with your temper..." a lot of folks talked about how hard it is to keep your cool when confronted with all the idiots and maniacs on the road ("idiots" are people that drive slower than you and get in your way, "maniacs", of course are the people who drive faster than you and want to get around you... imagine that!). Anyway, driving has become something of a martial art these days, so I thought I'd stick this in.

In spite of my long term involvement in the MAs, I still have some anger management issues, and no where is this potentially a more serious problem than when driving. But I found a solution when I started playing a game we called "Road Rage" with some of my friends and co-workers. It works like this. You get together and set up point values for various kinds of obnoxious driving behaviors. Then every day on your commute you tally up all the obnoxious behaviors, and the person who gathers the most points wins. So, for example, if someone tailgates you, you might get 5 points, but if he/she also flips you off, you get double points and so on. But the catch is, you can't provoke the other driver or you lose points. So the trick is to drive courteously and defensively, and really hope you get lucky and encounter some really rude people.