Responsibility and Helicopter Parents in Children's Classes

Aiden_01

White Belt
Reaction score
I've been teaching for around 10 years now. And something I've noticed over those 10 years is that kids are progressively getting less responsible and harder to handle. More than likely because their parents are trying to take all of the responsibility for them.

Obviously a 7 year old is going to not practice or forget to bring all of their equipment from time to time. That's expected and understandable. My current issue is that they don't seem to care that they're not prepared. There are 9 and 10 year old who don't bring mouth guards to class and tell me its their dads fault for not packing it in the bag. Kids in the same age group looking at me and telling me they can't remember what they learned last week because they didn't practice and laughing about it. I've even had 14 year olds say its not their fault that they didn't practice because their parents didn't make them.

Then the parents make excuses for the behavior. Laughing that their child is such a trouble student, telling them to just not tell me they don't have a mouth guard and maybe I won't notice, and saying that making the kids do pushups or run laps for it is inappropriate because its not their responsibility.

As I said before, I excuse occasional forgetfulness because they're little kids. But I feel that at the age of 7 or 8, they shouldn't be forgetting mouth guards and belts or coming in wearing the top of their uniform with a pair of shorts because they lost them almost every single class.

Is anyone else having this issue or do I just have an especially difficult group of kids and parents? What do you think its the appropriate way to handle the issue?

jks9199

Administrator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score