Relaxation Techniques

Corporal Hicks

Black Belt
Reaction score
Hi there, I've been learning Wing Chung for around two months now, and have gained considerable progress in learning the relaxation for the punching, however I am still too tense and stiff and so cannot correctly perform some techniques. Do any of you have any relaxation exercises I could practice? Are there any specific ones for Wing Chung?

Regards

ed-swckf

Black Belt
Reaction score
Corporal Hicks said:
Hi there, I've been learning Wing Chung for around two months now, and have gained considerable progress in learning the relaxation for the punching, however I am still too tense and stiff and so cannot correctly perform some techniques. Do any of you have any relaxation exercises I could practice? Are there any specific ones for Wing Chung?

Regards
i'm assuming you warm up and warm down, relaxation is something you will be constantly learning to do more and more in wing chun, even now in my training my sifu will tell me to relax, relax or die. I haven't come across anything spectacular in helping me relax, i make a point of conciously relaxing as much as i can, keep doing the hard work, when i feel i am getting tense i take it down a notch and work at that level until i can work and a faster more intense pace with relaxation. I don't think there is any short cuts just lots and lots and lots of good sensible training.

spatulahunter

Green Belt
Reaction score
most wing chun students tend to be to stiff at first, over time you will learn to soften up a lot, the best 2 exercises for me have been chi sau and dan chi sau (single arm chi sau). In the stickey hand drills if you are stiff and tight it will make it easy to be controlled and felt, if you relax it will be easier to strike and harder to be blocked.

K

Katsu Jin Ken