Beginner Chi Sau Questions

Zook104

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi I am fairly new to Wing Chun as I started only a few months ago and due to my busy schedule I have only been able to go nearly once a week.

I have been doing chi sau with people in my club and found that I am very easy to push around. By this I mean my arms are easily overpowered by my opponents when it comes to strength against strength.

Though I certainly wouldn't class myself as a body builder I am fit and health and do regular training on weights.

Does anyone have any advice for me as a beginner? Is it because I am not committed enough to the attacks? Or maybe because I tense up? Because I have been told over and over again to relax while practicing. Does anyone have any advice about relaxing during chi sau and drills as well?

Thanks for reading my first post :)

Marnetmar

Black Belt
Reaction score
Hey welcome to the club! We don't bite...hard ;)

The first thing I'd have to say is that you shouldn't be using strength against strength at all, rather a very small amount of forward pressure.

If someone pushes you one way, let them do it and go into a tool that makes use of your bone structure (fooksao, tansao, bongsao, etc.). Or, find a way to trap both of their arms (there are hundreds of ways to do this, ask your instructor about it) and follow through with an attack.

And wing chun's techniques are uncommitted, meaning that if one attack is interrupted, you can allow it to be and then switch to another technique without effort.

The best way I can describe relaxation during chi sao drills would be to essentially pretend that your arms have gone limp, and only move according to the way you're being moved rather than against it. I'm not exactly an expert either though, so I'll probably get chewed out by someone here sooner or later. I hope I was able to help! :asian:

OP
Z

Zook104

White Belt
Reaction score
Okay cool I will try that tomorrow thanks :D

geezer

Grandmaster
MT Mentor