relaxing and muscle tension in chi sau

paddyJKD

White Belt
Reaction score
I've been learning wing chun for around 2 years on and off. one thing i am tired of hearing is you're too tense, your arms are stiff, relax...

Sifu often stops me from chi sau and says "see this, this relaxed, you do this." How?

fair enough... thing is i know my form is quite good cos i get quite easy hits while doing chi sau on a lot of students in different ranks, however i can feel that i am still really stiff and no matter how much i try to relax or losen up my muscles, sifu always come back "too stiff". I know i would be a lot better and more effective if i could or knew how to loosen up.

One theory i have is that i have too many trigger points in my muscles. i'm a personal trainer and do a lot of intense resistance exercise which over time has made my muscles shorten and built constant tension in groups of muscle fibers (trigger points). i have had massages once or twice before and been told that i need a lot more intense massage (1 a week for around 10 weeks) before my muscles will be relieved of excess tension especially my shoulders.

Anyway what i'm getting at is can someone give me some useful thoughts or ideas about how to relax properly or even their theories of relaxation in wing chun and chi sau and whether or not trigger point therapy will help?

Thanks,
Paddy

yak sao

Senior Master
Reaction score
The answer is easy....the doing is the hard part.

The founders of WC have already laid the groundwork for us, all we have to do is follow the map.

First of all. SNT, and lots of it. RELAX while doing it, ie turn off the antagonistic muscles and use just enough force to make the movement.
And then keep doing it...you will always be able to do it better, no matter how many years you train it.