politics, history, who, what, where and why?

C

Courtney's Dad

Hi everyone,

I'm new to kenpo and would like to know more about ed parker and his schools. many of his students have gone their own ways. i know no one can speak for another but if it is general knowledge, why did the Tracy's leave?, what happened in the 70's? somewhere i read that many instructors left at one time, why? many black belts i met at the international tourney recently seemed very friendly with each other but i often feel an undercurrent of unease for some reason. is it just the way a family grows up? what happened after mr. parker passed on? who stayed and why, who left and why?

i know this is a lot to ask at one time and hope this question doesn't offend anyone. just curious.

thanks for the time and consideration

Zoran

Black Belt
Founding Member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
This is a question that can get many heated. Someone will answer you, then someone else won't like the answer and post a reply, then another person will come along and say both are wrong. Follow same pattern until the mderators have to lock the thread.

Jump around on the net. You'll find some answers. Just remember, everybody, and I mean everybody, is biased. That includes me.:)

Klondike93

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
It appeared to me when some broke away, they were just looking for any reason to do so. I have asked some and read about others and most said that Mr. Parker was the only reason they stayed at all.

I have read Mr. Parker had a partner in the 60's, Jimmy Woo and when they split alot of his black belts went with him. But I think the good ones stayed with Mr. Parker if you ask me.

Zoran is right though, it could cause some heated responses but I don't think it would happen in this forum. They seem pretty civilized here, except for Gou, he's da big dog with the big bark!!

:asian:

OP
G

GouRonin

Originally posted by Klondike93