Perception of Tae Kwon Do a Problem?

searcher

Senior Master
Reaction score
MountainSage said:
Gemini,
You still didn't answer my question. What do you define as a low kick? Stating that TKD teaches both is a misrepresentation; TKD demands high kick, accepts middle kicks, and deplores low kicks. Please name one form that includes a true low kick and is general taught as a low kick not a middle kick for "competition" purposes.

mountainsage
If Gemini will permit me to answer your question, I will do so. Low kick as defined by Chong-han forms is one to the knee. I personally like to the thigh about 2-4 inches above the knee both inside and outside.

As for part 2 of your post. I have very little knowledge about WTF forms so I hope you won't mind if I answer with an ITF/Chong-han forms. The Hyung Gwang-gae has a low to middle combination of side kicks. It is performed on both sides(left and right).

Hope this helps out.

M

MountainSage

Searcher,
My point of reasking the question was to get a solid answer for a WTF BB. This is the very reason I parted ways with WTF TKD eight or so months ago. The philosphical generalization get really old after a while. I also don't believe you can compare WTF and ITF TKD. IMHO, ITF has stay more true to the "Real TKD" and WTF went commerical. I could go on for hours, yet It would be off topic. The real answer to the question that was presented is the there is a perception problem both inside and outside TKD. Until TKD begins to understand what it is there will be no closure.

Michael Wood
Mountainsage

TX_BB

Purple Belt
Reaction score
MountainSage said:
Gemini,
You still didn't answer my question. What do you define as a low kick?
mountainsage

Knee to Groin is generally covered by the term low kick. Below the knee attacks are generally considered stomps.

MountainSage said:
Gemini,
Please name one form that includes a true low kick and is general taught as a low kick not a middle kick for "competition" purposes.
mountainsage