Tae-Kwon-Do versus Knife

OP
M

Mannie

Hi everyone,
Just so that you understand the reason for this thread.
I am an Edge Weapon Instructor that is accredited in three Knife Systems.
I have put an Edge Weapon Awareness & Defense training system that does not teach you a new system, but rather works with individual martial arts in either creating a practical realistic syllabus that complements and adds to what that system already does, or else simply to revamp an existing program.
I have been working with some senior TaeKwonDo instructors over the past few months, and have put in place with their assistance a curriculum that uses existing TaeKwonDo techniques and application in dealing against edge weapons in a very practical and effective manner taking into account all the four main areas.
1. Threating Knife - Very Long Range
2. Ready to Act Knife - Meddium Range
3. Kill Knife - In Your Face Range
4. Demanding Knife - You Have Something they want

These applications will be published in the Australasian TaeKwonDo magazine in four segments.

Digger70chall

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
sounds like an interesting read. I don't know how i could get ahold of austrailian TKD magazine though. Will there be a way to make them available in the states?

Gemini

Senior Master
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Mannie said:
These applications will be published in the Australasian TaeKwonDo magazine in four segments.

I would also love to have a gander at that. When it's published, please let us know how we can access it.

Thanks

Makalakumu

Gonzo Karate Apocalypse
MT Mentor
Reaction score
I think that the most effective techniques in TKD against the knife are going to be the low side kicks, foot stomps, and kneeing. If one can keep the knife off of their vitals long enough to disable their opponents ability to move, disengaging and running away gets easier. Of course, if one can run away to begin with, they've just defended themselves.

jujutsu_indonesia

Black Belt
Reaction score