New here - Have a small issue

A

Andrew1310

Hi everyone,

I just took up Taekwondo and we are beginning to spar, problem is im being matched up with women.

Now don't take me wrong, these women are good, really good, and would absolutely wreck me in a fight, but I cannot bring myself to hit them back with my full strength.

I'm still learning, my technique is way off still and my balance is far from perfect, but every time I get matched up with a woman opponent I freeze up.

Does this happen to other people?

JowGaWolf

Sr. Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
but I cannot bring myself to hit them back with my full strength
In my opinion training partners shouldn't hit each other with full strength during sparring. There's no need to do that in order to learn how to apply the technique. If someone stronger than you thought that he should be hitting you full strength then you wouldn't last long. You'll probably end up with injuries that would take time to heal, cuts down on training time. And you definitely wouldn't enjoy being beat up every time you spar.

During sparring training partners have to be concerned for each others safety. Sparring is great because people can lower the power and still train the techniques without going full power.

If the women can actually beat you in a fight, then you shouldn't have any uneasiness in sparring with them. Just lower the power and work the technique. What I do in training is to match the power that I receive.

Headhunter

Senior Master
Reaction score
In my opinion training partners shouldn't hit each other with full strength during sparring. There's no need to do that in order to learn how to apply the technique. If someone stronger than you thought that he should be hitting you full strength then you wouldn't last long. You'll probably end up with injuries that would take time to heal, cuts down on training time. And you definitely wouldn't enjoy being beat up every time you spar.