multiple styles?

Don Roley

Senior Master
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Gary Arthur said:
I have also trained in Kali, JKD, Hakko Ryu Jujutsu, Aikido, Western Swordsmanship, and Judo whilst studying Ninjutsu. Not because I wanted to put these arts into my art, but because i wanted to know what a Kali/Judo/Jujutsu man etc might attack me with.

I remembered starting an entire thread about this subject. Finally found it here.

I am too lazy to type up the relevent points again, did not know if it was right to cut and paste without listing a link.

G

Gary Arthur

A couple of people have asked about Aikido attacks. Well what if an Aikido guys throws a punch at you and when you respond they try to use some Aikido. I remember some years ago an army guy that studied Aikido who knew I was a martial artist tried to grab me. Not knowing he was into aikido I managed to get him off when he started to try to twist my wrist in an Omote Kote Gyaku Nage type movement or Kote Gaeshi in Aikido. The way this lock was applied was different to how we in Ninjutsu do it, but I now know what an aikido lock/throw feels like. This in turn gives me valuable information about my attacker.

I also had a student in my Dojo who got to black belt in Ninjutsu. He also practiced a lot of Judo and Aikido. He was great for using as an Uke as he could escape from anything and make it look dynamic (excellent for demonstrations)It was also great training trying to stop him escaping and rolling out of any throw I did.

I have also visited martial arts Dojos where martial arts clubs have mixed Karate, Judo and Aikido in to a mix and finally calling it something like Goshinjutsu. These clubs may start with an attack but their primary goal is to get you into grappling range to employ either throws (judo) or wrist locks (Aikido)