Mod. Note--"I quit!" thread.

K

kenposcum

Everyone-
So I started Kenpo at Downers Grove Karate when I was fifteen. What I was really interested in was something that would keep me safe when I finally got to prison. Don't all gasp at once, but I was hanging around some pretty shifty cats and I figured sooner or later, I'd get sent to the pokey. It was time to learn how to fight.
So I started. My first group class I was so out of shape I threw up during the first fifteen minutes. But I wouldn't stop...this stuff was so cool!
So by the time I graduated high school, I was a big bad purple belt. And all I wanted to do was study martial arts, commit crimes (notably theft and drug dealing), and "hang out" with a series of young ladies possessed of a loose moral character.
I kept training. I'd be at the dojo waiting for my instructor to get there, and I'd stay until he left. Unlike him, I never spent any time just sitting around...I was busy practicing. Learning.
I'd get jobs, and then they'd start to encroach on my training, and I'd quit. Ah, fraud was easier anyway, wasn't it? My instructor didn't pay any attention to me beyond bumming me the occaisional cigarette. No asking me what I was up to, no trying to encourage me to get into school, NOTHING. I'd relate tales of street violence, including how I brought the violence upon myself, and did he ever admonish me? Tell me I was going to end up dead? No; he'd gruffly laugh as I told him about how I sent some gangbanger to the hospital and mutter something about his school being able to kick the rice out of all the other schools.
I was getting pretty damn good. In a year or so I became a green belt and began teaching. What a gratifying feeling! I was also getting into a lot of trouble at this point. I got a DUI charge, and a couple months later I got a battery charge when I beat up my girlfriend's brother. My instructor didn't care. After a couple of months, he gave me a key to the school. I treated it like my child.