mental block

denmyos

Orange Belt
Reaction score
I have been doing MT for a couple of months.
Have been sparring 5-6 times.
Yesterday, i was sparring against my kroo and some 12 year old kid, (im 42) which kick my ***..
Yesterday i had this mental block during sparring, my brain came up with excuse for not hitting or kicking back.
when i was sparring with my kroo, one of the excuse my brain came up with was, "that i repectet him to much to hit him, and if i did, the consequences would be so and so. So ill better hide behind a double block, and take it. "
Which i did.

I more or less did the same with the kid ( which btw is 160 pound, and has a mustache) But this time it has his age, that my brain came up with for an excuse.

The same thing happend when i sparred with my friend, which i usually can beat. But this time the excuse was that i felt sorry for me.

So all in all, a very very dissapointing session.
I have been doing sport for almost 20 years, and has always been doing it with a 100 % effort. But has never done a contact sport before.

This mental block is very new to me. Is this common for beginners in combat sports.?
Has anybody else tryed it?

jarrod

Senior Master
Reaction score
this kind of thing is pretty common. basically you need to discipline your mind, & make it do what you want it to. right now you're letting your thoughts run the show; it's like you're a victim of your thinking.

not everyone's mind tells them not to fight, but everyone has to learn to direct their thoughts. combat sports are a little tougher because they tend to be more stressful: it feels like there's more at stake than losing a game of tennis. at least for me that's how it is.

just concentrate, & you can make yourself do it. after awhile it will be second nature.

jf

OP
D

denmyos

Orange Belt
Reaction score
Thx, :) you made my day.
I know you are right, i just need to get control of my thoughts when sparring.

But thx again..