kicking and getting the knee block ?

J

J-kid

i have just started Muay THai about a week ago and was sparring with some friends and even though my kicks took them out fast some times i would hit there knee when they blocked with it and it sure hurt what do i do about this problem.

Damian Mavis

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
Get tougher.

Seriously though you are supposed to spar with shin guards on until your shins are conditioned enough to take bone on bone contact. That can take anywere from a few months to years. I've been training for about 20 months and I still can't take full contact shin on shin. It's a long process, until then you ignore the pain. I'm surprised your sparring at all though since you just joined.... your kru lets you spar?

Damian Mavis
Honour TKD

OP
J

J-kid

I can take it. but it hurts . gotta work on faking the oppent out first befor sending the kick i guess.

Damian Mavis

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
What I guess I wanted to know was... are you sparring under your Kru's supervision in a ring or just messing around with friends?

Damian Mavis
Honour TKD

OP
J

J-kid

I like to ufc fight people around my neighbor hood. Its friends and other people its cool and safe but is there a method or a spot on the nee if they are blocking the leg kick i could hit????

Damian Mavis

Master Black Belt
Reaction score