"May I honor you with my kata?"

Bill Mattocks

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I heard this a lot at the recent tournament I attended. The competitor performing kata would step up to the judges and say something along these lines:

"Judges! My name is [insert name]! I represent [insert karate style]! I train at [insert dojo name] under [insert trainer name]! May I honor you by performing [insert name of kata]?"

OK, look. I'm no expert on competition etiquette, but this is just wrong. The competitor does not 'honor' the judges. They are 'honoring' the competitor by watching and judging his or her kata.
"May I have the honor of performing [insert kata name] for you?"

This would be far more appropriate, I think.

The idea of students honoring judges makes me shudder.

But perhaps I'm way off base here. What are your thoughts?

LuckyKBoxer

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
seems like an odd choice of words there to me as well. We use the term "Performing"

"Judges I will be Performing Form 5, with your permission may I begin?"

the rest of the beginning is almost identical to what we say..

clfsean

Senior Master
MT Mentor
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I always thought it was silly to tell them what you're doing. I figured, if they're judging they should know what I'm doing. There should be enough diversity in the judging panel to recognize what is being done. Nowadays though with all the made up junk & stuff, I can see where it's necessary to identify what it is & such.

Nomad

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
While I think I understand what the competitors meant (that they were performing the kata as an offering or tribute to the judges), I agree that the phrasing is clumsy.

What happens if it's a bad kata? Does that mean that competitor really doesn't 'honor' the judges as much as the better competitors?

We use phrasing closer to "With your permission, I'd like to perform ______." Sometimes followed by "May I begin?"

Nomad

Master Black Belt