Martial arts and aggression

Monkey Turned Wolf

MT Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
Hey everyone,
So I've been having to plan an experiment for my psychology class, and its about martial arts effect on aggression (whether it causes an increase or decrease in aggression or has no effect on aggression). Chose it because some people in my class had a discussion about how martial arts and fighting are only done by aggressive people, and it just makes them more aggressive, which i completely disagree with. Just curious, what does everyone on here think the relationship is between aggression and martial arts?

Kaygee

Blue Belt
Reaction score
If anything, it hasn't really changed me a bit, as far as aggression goes. It has only built self confidence in me, nothing else. I was never aggressive and would always walk away from a confrontation rather that actually deal with it, even before I started training in Martial Arts.

Like I stated, I do have more self confidence though because, not only do I go places now without worrying about being beat up, but I know that if a confrontation does arise, I am saving THEM from ME and not the other way around when I walk away.

It has "quieted my mind" a bit though and I tend to think about things before I act. Like, for instance, I always had a bit, not much, but a bit, of road rage sometimes. Now I have zero! I actually find it humorous now when people yell at me from behind a glass window and I cannot understand a word they are saying. Why expend the energy to get angry? Just move on with life.

Bill Mattocks

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I would say I am far less aggressive now, after about five years of training. Perhaps because I know what I am not capable of and don't want to start something I can't finish. My reality has overtaken my imagination with regard to my capabilities.

oftheherd1

Senior Master
Reaction score