Martial Art Complete System?

Hawke

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
Hello All,

I am a newbie. I was wondering if there is a true complete martial art system?

Would a complete system be better than MMA?

What will make a complete martial art system?

Strikes (hands, feet, elbows, knees, fingers, head, hips, shins, shoulders)

Foot work

Ground fighting (grappling)

Pressure points

Solo, Partner, Mutliple Attack practices

Self Defense (roleplaying scenarios)

Katas

Weapons (Tradional and Modern)

Would you consider Kung Fu San Soo, Kenpo, Bujinkan, Jujitsu to be a complete system? What other martial art would you consider to be a complete system? Would these systems be better than cross training MMA?

So many questions....yup I'm a newbie.

Thank you,
Hawke

MJS

Administrator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
Hello All,

Would a complete system be better than MMA?

What will make a complete martial art system?

Strikes (hands, feet, elbows, knees, fingers, head, hips, shins, shoulders)

Foot work

Ground fighting (grappling)

Pressure points

Solo, Partner, Mutliple Attack practices

Self Defense (roleplaying scenarios)

Katas

Weapons (Tradional and Modern)

Would you consider Kung Fu San Soo, Kenpo, Bujinkan, Jujitsu to be a complete system? What other martial art would you consider to be a complete system? Would these systems be better than cross training MMA?

So many questions....yup I'm a newbie.

Thank you,
Hawke

Is there such a thing as a complete system? One thing to consider is how much depth does an art have to have in a certain area for it to be considered complete? In other words, take grappling. If a system has ground work included in it, how detailed does that grappling have to be? A few basic escapes? On the level of a MMA student?