ma notebooks

rachel

Purple Belt
Reaction score
Do any of you keep a journal on what you learn in your MA? One of my instructors brought hers in to show us. I just started one because of her. It's amazing how much I've learned. I didn't realize until I started writing it all down. She had a great idea.:)

J

Jill666

I didn't for the first few years, but as I got more material and vocabulary, it became necessary. I just don't have the memory I used to (what? Pot, booze & coke are bad for you?) and now am cross training. Lots of material.

I have three notebooks going, and binders for handouts I get at seminars. Just jotting down concepts, rudimentary moves to remember kata, or names. Especially names. I'm a poor student of Japanese, and so when an instructor says "do Sukenstashita Haku No Sai" I look at my training partner. If I'm lucky he'll pantomime the first move, and I can say "yes Shihan!"

:rolleyes:

Then there are those other times when he's as clueless as I am (pot, booze & coke are bad for you). I can do a lot more pushups than I used to.

Keep notes, Rachel. Lots and lots of notes.
:asian:

Matt Stone

Master of Arts
Reaction score
Keeping a journal is a great thing. I carry two notebooks around constantly (the small 8x5 kind), and make notes for whatever I am working on or thinking about...

I have "the Archaeology of Forms" as an ongoing project.

I have the book manuscript I am working on as an ongoing project.

I have my weight lifting (using Pavel Tsatsouline's methods) to keep track of.

Not to mention any other notes I may need to jot down when I have a momentary glimmer of inspiration.

When the notebook is full, I take it to the PC and either compile the good stuff for posterity's sake, or destroy the useless crap with my shredder...

Gambarimasu.
:asian:

J

Jill666