Low horse stance

mook jong man

Senior Master
Reaction score
Who practices the low horse stance , chair gwun I think its called .
You know the preparation exercise for learning the pole .
I hadn't done it for ages and now I've just recently started doing it again , I forgot how bloody hard it is .

I remember in our school if you really wanted to break the spirit of students in a grading , you would get them to hold a low horse stance while punching for a couple of minutes .
I find as well as strengthening the legs it also serves as a great stretching exercise if you go down far enough .

How low or wide of a stance is this? Only seen the pole form in books.
I thought the stances where really wide for wing chun.

Yes I am familiar with Horse Stance. I have been practicing it for 16 years. I still practice it. It doesn't hurt unless I go extemely low and hold that posisition for like ten minutes. When I was younger I could Exxtremely low and hold it for 20 minutes. But I don't practice it to that extreme now. But the Low Horse stance is a good way to cultivate Chi. In Fact in the Pole Form Uses the cat stance too. But, The reason being is this. The poles were once used to push boats. Thats why they were eight to nine feet long. So If your on a boat standing up. You may need to closer to ground and have a wider stance. Otherwise one good hit from another pole an you go swimming in the water.

Yes along with Horse stance we also practiced
Crossing Horse
Crane Up
Cat Stance
Swallow Stance
Arrow Stance
Also a couple of low postures too.

Here is basic Horse stance: This Height I can hold easily!

Horse stance

horse-stance01.jpg
013.jpg

Here is the cat stance

2230647105_fff815e783.jpg
2129364414_293cc4b48c_o.jpg

Here is Arrow Stance
shao03.jpg

I hadn't done it for ages and now I've just recently started doing it again , I forgot how bloody hard it is .