Lost students, why?

HKphooey

Senior Master
Reaction score
My day job is in marketing and business development , but I also help out at the school I belong too.

I developed some marketing programs to try to get back lost customers. Customers we may have lost to the competition, over customer service issues, pricing or other reasons. We try to find out why they left us.

I think this has a lot of value in the martial arts industry, too. I have been surprised to talk to old students I happen to run into on the street and I hear they quit for reasons that could have been resolved with communication.

Most people are scared of confrontation and may not be able to express their feelings to someone face to face (especially an instructor). Follow up letters to students saying "We miss you, why did you leave" or "we miss you, we hope you are doing well" may be worth the effort. Include a survey or questionaire.

Sometimes I think we are so school sporited and close to things that we may not want to admit our schools have issues, but every business does.

Do any owners have a follow up program for students who quit their training? So you try to find out why they quit?

CTKempo Todd

Green Belt
Reaction score
HK...

Good thread.

Yes in my mind I absolutley agree with you about tracking/trending losing students..
If you know the reason for leaving then something can be done about it. (For the most part). You will always lose some through no cause of your own however the reason should still be vetted.

Not sure if your school has students in binding contracts (I do not) but one way to let a student be released is conditional on filling out some type of form indicated why the want to stop..
This information in the big picture of things can sometimes be more valuable than the payment itself.

Because if your marketing/advertising dollars are being spent to bring in 10 new students in the front door and you are losing as many out the back door, what's the point?