Kihon Happo roots

OP
L

Lawman85

DWeidman said:
Scott -

Would my opinion be more valid if I was an instructor and the answers to your questions were "Yes"?
Yes

DWeidman said:
I understand there are many people who feel that kihon happo is universal - and applies to everything. I would counter that the principles and strategies INSIDE of the kihon Happo are universal...
Damn, as Americans we really over analyze stuff.... lol...

DWeidman said:
So the question on the table is: Is GansekiNage a techinique or a principle? If it is a technique - then it has LIMITED application. If it is a principle - then it has a broader application.
It is both.

DWeidman said:
For what it is worth - before this degrades into a member size contest - I don't believe in perserving techniques just to have them without exploring the principles...
If you don't preserve the techniques, then you lose the art. The techniques must remain, and be taught and learned, in order for the art to live. It doesn't matter if you understand why you are doing them, or what the principles are behind them, or what year they were created, you must trust that they were put in there for a reason. At some point in your training, you will understand all of that, it may be sooner or later, but if you train hard enough and long enough, then your questions will be answered.
The way I have always trained is to practice the Kihon everyday and try to perfect the movements and body control. Then I try to incorporate the techniques and principles into real life scenerios. That is how the art grows, but the basics still must remain.

So, actually, almost every answer in this thread is right if you combine them.

Dale Seago

Black Belt
Reaction score
Lawman85 said: