Is Your School Part Of A Larger Organization?

MJS

Administrator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
Thought that we could discuss the pros/cons of being an independant school or one that is part of a larger organization. Granted, there are alot of politics in the arts, so I'm thinking that would be one reason to be seperate. However, if thats the route that your school takes, what usually happens as far as promotions and having a source of material to refer back to?

Mike

trueaspirer

Green Belt
Reaction score
My school (tang soo do) used to be part of the federation, but then broke off (I'm not entirely sure why).
Now even though it costs more, it is more independent, and forms and stuff are sometimes taken out (good thing and bad).

painstain

Green Belt
Reaction score
my schools are part of the world youn wha ryu tae kwon do association.
i'm a new instructor (been teaching for about a year) and am glad to be part of a great organization. i have my instructors numbers for any questions and we have advanced class twice a weak where instructors have meetings and talk and learn from our divission leaders zach and katie shaw (4th dans) wwha are also my instructors. so access is easy for me. but we have instructors info online as well for those who are far from the leaders.

still learning

Senior Master
Reaction score
Hello, Today, My son and I belong to a large organiztions with schools all over Hawaii and the mainland.

Has many advantages, If traveling to other places and if a school is nearby you can train there. A fellow kempo student is working on his masters in college the east coast and found a school from our organzition and trains there.

Many seminars, teachers training classes are held every month. This is good when your organization is big.

We were in a one man self own/run Shotokan Karate school and the Sensi quits....no one to take over...and it ended.