Returning to the arts

trapperdaddy

White Belt
Reaction score
I'm having a serious desire to return the arts but am torn on what style to return to. My background is in Isshinryu for 13 years where I left as a San Dan. I enjoyed the art but left because of changes in life and being very tired of the politics within my immediate organization.

I've stayed active, did crossfit for 5 years where I competed and have a very physical job to returning physically will be a nonissue. However, I am now 44 and have the usual aches and pains of someone who's been an athlete since very young. I own a small business and have a family so my commitment level will not be the same as single with no kids.

Here's the the schools I've narrowed it down too and what I believe are the benefits and cons to. I'd love to hear your opinions and thoughts.

Muay Thai - Instructor seems legit though I've not met him yet. Cost is good and background is good
Pro, I've always enjoyed fighting and this will give me plenty of it
It's simplicity is good for me since I came from a system where there was a ton to learn
No carrot to chase (all of you know what I mean)
Compete or not, still get what I need

Con, not as likely to be able to teach when I'm older
greater risk of injury which I cannot afford since I'm a laborer
Chance I could get bored with less to learn

Judo - School and instructors are legit and have a good lineage. Cost is good and school has long history
Pro, a system that's been around a long time and I would easily adapt to
Lots to learn and adapt to and my previous Sensai was a Sho Dan in Judo
I'd likely earn another BB which not a bad thing at all
Something I could teach when older and could incorporate my prior style into my teachings
Throwing people around was always enjoyable

Con, chasing the carrot again
not sure I'll have the same dedication because of distractions in life
I'll miss fighting

Aikido
Pro, could do style the rest of my life since softer