instructing

firerex

Orange Belt
Reaction score
so im a level one instructor and a senior red belt at my academy, i've been lvl one since sr brown (about 6 months now) my instructor gave me a teaching assignment the other day and i have a feeling im gonna get another one today, im just curious if any other instructor remembers their first class to teach and if they have any pointers

dancingalone

Grandmaster
Reaction score
As a colored belt, I remember giving too much detail when just trying to teach a simple roundhouse kick to a white belt. I'm afraid I just overwhelmed her with information. It was good information for someone who thinks and learns like I do, not so good for her. My teacher at the time gently walked over and simplified the lesson for her.

I was acutely embarrassed at the time, as I felt like an idiot, but it was a good experience for me. Good teachers adapt to their audience rather than droning on and on. Bueller... Bueller?

stickarts

Senior Master
MT Mentor
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
There is so much that can be said but I like to start with always setting the example since students are watching you carefully. Being positive, professional, encouraging, explaining clearly what you want, respectful, and noticing how each student is doing are just a few examples of that.

OP
firerex

firerex

Orange Belt
Reaction score
he gave me the tiger cubs which is basically a 30 minute class for 4, 5, and 6 yr olds to learn how to escape if some one grabs, basics of punching and kicking and at the end a fun drill for them

searcher

Senior Master
Reaction score
Breathe. It makes everything better. If you get lost or feel overwhelmed, perform calisthenics. They can be a lifesaver for the new instructor.

Keep It Short and Simple.

granfire

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score