I have a general question regarding Kenpo...

A

Aleem

Hi, I'm Aleem and I'm very new to the martial arts (I'm 19... is that too late to start?)

Currently I've started WingTsun... I was looking for something which I could use to defend myself against street-agressors and that kind of thing. However, as I'm only new to everything, I'm looking to find what other styles are about, where the emphases lie, and whether they rely on strength, strikes, whether they are long-range, short-range, whether they address take-downs, any grappling etc.

I guess what I want to know is... what is Kenpo? This might sound really stupid... I would have extensively researched this on the net, only that my net-browser is so messed up that I can only open a hand-ful of sites, this being one of them.

A description of what Kenpo looks like maybe, its strengths, whether its a striking art, a very brief history etc. would be greatly appreciated.

Sorry if my questions are very general and ignorant. As I say, I'm very new to everything and am throwing questions around so that I can be better informed for the future. For some reason my net browser also doesn't allow me to easily search past posts, so if I'm asking over-asked questions, my apologies.

Thanks in advance for any help,

Takecare,

Aleem

p.s. One more thing - Other WingTsunners obviously claim to WingTsun's effectiveness etc. What I don't want is to be training in an art and spending my student budget on something that won't produce results... if I train hard and train well, CAN WingTsun improve my self-defense skills and give me a greater chance of surviving something like an aggressor? Oh, and I have a knee-injury (torn cartlidge) so I was wondering what kind of strain Kenpo places on a person's legs, specifically the knees!

Thanks very much!

michaeledward

Grandmaster
Reaction score
Welcome ... I started my training at 36 years old. So, don't worry about your age.